Shopping Cart - 0

You have no items in your shopping cart.

 

  • Baron Birtcher
  • Howard Owen
  • Kathleen Novak
  • Erik Mauritzson
  • Jeffrey B. Burton
  • E.L. Carter
  • David Freed
  • Kaushik Barua
  • Chris Knopf

           

Head Wounds

Head Wounds

$28.00

Quick Overview:

 
OR
 

Details


2009 Benjamin Franklin Best Mystery Award Winner

Listed as one of Deadly Pleasures best Mystery/Crime Novels of 2008
An Indie Next List selection
Finalist, ForeWord Magazine's Book of the Year Award

Sam Acquillo can hide in his windswept waterfront cottage all he wants. The demons of his past are going to find him. Worse, they've teamed up with some pretty nasty demons of the present, including a very determined Chief of Police whose top detective has Sam caught in the cross hairs.Part-time carpenter, full-time drinker and co-conspirator with an existential mutt named Eddie Van Halen, Sam tries to lead the simple life. But as always, fate intervenes, this time in the form of Robbie Milhouser, local builder and blundering bully who shares at least one thing with Sam; an irresistible attraction to the beautiful Amanda Anselma.

Peel back the glitz and glory of the fabled Hamptons and you'll find a beautiful place filled with ugly secrets. This is Sam Acquillo's world. Moving effortlessly across the social divide with wry pal Jackie Swaitkowski and rich guy Burton Lewis, the ex-boxer, ex-corporate infighter seems doomed to straddle the thin red line between envy and love, hate and forgiveness, goodness and greed. And sometimes life and death. Only this time, the life at stake is his own.

"This is Knopfs superb third Hamptons mystery (after Two Time and The Last Refuge). How can you go wrong with a philosophizing hero who drinks Absolut, reads Kant, drives a 67 Grand Prix and has a dog named Eddie Van Halen?" Publishers Weekly, starred review

"Another satisfying entry in an endearing series." Booklist

"Highly recommended." Library Journal, starred review

The third times the charm in Sam Acquillos attempt to fly below the radar as a Southampton carpenter. Hes suspected of murder. Fans of Spencer and Travis McGee will love the off-speed dialogue. Kirkus

Additional Information

Author Chris Knopf
SideBarText No
BookType N/A