Shopping Cart - 0

You have no items in your shopping cart.

  • Jacob M. Appel
  • Baron Birtcher
  • James Conroy
  • Howard Owen
  • Kathleen Novak
  • Erik Mauritzson
  • Jeffrey B. Burton
  • E.L. Carter
  • David Freed


About The Permanent Press

Founded in 1978 by Martin and Judith Shepard, The Permanent Press committed itself to publishing works of social and literary merit and has, over the years, gained a reputation as one of the finest independent presses in America.

Our individual authors and titles have gained over 50 literary honors, including the American Book Award, the Macavity Award, the Nero Award, the Hammett Prize, Small Press Book Awards, ForeWord Magazine's Book of the Year Award. and the New American Writing Award. They have also been finalists for the National Book Award, Edgar Award, the Chautauqua Prize, and the Shamus Award. 

Unlike most publishers, we have kept almost all of our titles in print, for we feel that these books have a timeless quality and will always be rewarding reading experiences.

 Judith Shepard, Martin Shepard, and Chris Knopf co-publishers